Leadership | Board of Directors

President: Q. Afifa Shamim-Uzzaman, MD, FAASM

Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine and Neurology as well as Director of the Sleep Laboratory, Ann Arbor VA.  After completing medical school at the Dow Medical College, Dr Shamin-Uzzaman obtained and completed an Internal Medicine-Pediatrics residency at the  Texas Tech University Amarillo Health Center. This was followed by completing a Movement Disorders fellowship at Georgetown University Hospital and Sleep Medicine fellowship at the University of Michigan Medical Center. She is board certified in Internal Medicine, and Sleep Medicine. She has been active in the local and national sleep medicine societies.

President Elect: Mark Garwood, MD

              (Bio coming)

Secretary & Treasurer: Soumya Madala, MD

Dr. Madala is a board certified internist and sleep medicine specialist. She graduated from medical school at Sri Devraj Urs Medical College, Karnatake, India.  She completed her Internal Medicine residency at St Joseph Mercy Hospital in Ann Arbor. She is a graduate of the University of Michigan Sleep Medicine Fellowship Program. She has been practicing sleep medicine at Mercy Health Sleep center in Grand Rapids. 

Past-President: Mark Goetting, MD, FAAP, FAPN, FAASM

Dr. Goetting is Medical Director of Bronson Sleep Health and Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine, Pediatrics, and Neurology at MSU. He is a graduate of The College of Human Medicine at MSU after which he completed training in neurology, pediatrics, and sleep medicine at the University of Michigan as well as a fellowship in pediatric critical care medicine at Henry Ford Hospital. In addition, he has authored over 45 peer reviewed papers as well as book chapters and numerous abstracts. His current research interests are in advanced technology for sleep disordered breathing and pharmacotherapy of chronic insomnia, narcolepsy, and restless legs syndrome. Recently, he has worked with Medicare and the AMA in their efforts to define appropriate diagnosis, therapy, and reimbursement for sleep apnea.

Board Member: Christopher Morgan, MD

Dr. Christopher Morgan is currently the Medical Director of Mercy Health Saint Mary's Sleep Center. He also works as a Neurologist/Neurohospitalist at Mercy Health Saint Mary's Hospital in Grand Rapids, Michigan. He is the program director for the Mercy Health Grand Rapids Neurology residency program at Hauenstein Neurosciences.  He is a Clinical Assistant Professor at Michigan State University College of Human Medicine.  He completed his undergraduate training at University of Michigan. He pursued his medical training at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine in Dayton, Ohio. He did his Neurology residency training at Loyola University Medical Center in Maywood, Illinois. He then went onto complete his Sleep Medicine Fellowship at University of Michigan Medical Center. 


Board Member: Cynthia Nichols, PhD., FAASM, C.BSM                                

Cindy Nichols, PhD, DABSM, FAASM, CBSM has served on the MASM Board of Directors for over 20 years and currently practices at Munson Medical Center in Traverse City where she is the Clinical Director.  She is a licensed clinical psychologist and neuropsychologist.  Her clinical interests include sleep disorders in children, parasomnias, cognitive-behavioral treatment of insomnia, circadian rhythm disorders, sleep in traumatic brain injury and post-traumatic stress disorders, and new technologies in sleep measurement.  She has served on several AASM task forces and co-authored systematic reviews on indications for polysomnography in children and on recommended sleep duration in children.  She is an experienced biostatistician and has served as the statistical co-author for publications in a broad range of both sleep and non-sleep areas.  She also serves on the Institutional Review Board at Munson Medical Center.

Board Member: Virginia Skiba, MD

Virginia Skiba, M.D. received her Medical Doctor degree in 2004 when she graduated from the University of Michigan Medical School.  She spent the next 9 years of her career serving in the United States Navy. She completed an Internal Medicine internship and Neurology residency at the National Capital Consortium, Bethesda, MD.  While in the U.S. Navy, she was stationed at the Naval Hospital Twentynine Palms where she worked as a Primary Care Provider from 2005 to 2007. From 2010 to 2013 she was stationed at the Naval Hospital Camp Lejeune in NC, where she worked as a Staff Neurologist and Neurology Division Head. Dr. Skiba then completed a Sleep Medicine Fellowship at the University of Michigan.  Currently, she works at the Henry Ford Sleep Disorders and Research Center seeing patients in several clinics.  She is also the Medical Director of the Cottage Sleep Lab and Associate Program Director of the Fellowship.

Chairman, Health Policy Committee: R. Bart Sangal, MD, FAASM                                   

R. Bart Sangal, MD is the Director of Sleep & Attention Disorders Institute in Sterling Heights, MI, and Professor at Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine. He has previously served as Chair of the Health Policy Committee of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM), member of its Board of Directors, and Chair of the Business of Sleep Medicine Course. He served on the Task Force that wrote the International Classification of Sleep Disorders, 2nd edition. He received the AASM’s Mark Hatfield Public Policy Award in 2006.His research interests have included daytime sleepiness and attention deficit. He has participated as Principal Investigator in 76 clinical trials, and has authored 54 peer-reviewed papers (including review articles on the Indications for Polysomnography and related procedures, and the Clinical Use of the MSLT and MWT).  

Administrative Assistant: Karen Carter

MASM | 3031 West Grand Blvd, Suite #645, Detroit, MI 48202 | Phone: (313) 874-1360, ext 303 | Fax: (313) 874-1366 | Email: kcarter@wcmssm.org

Copyright 2014: MASM, All Rights Protected


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software